About the American Brahms Society

Mission Statement

Founded in 1983 on the occasion of the sesquicentenary of the birth of Johannes Brahms, the American Brahms Society is a non-profit, learned organization that actively seeks to foster and disseminate research on the life, music, and historical position of Brahms. To this end, the Society publishes a semi-annual newsletter, awards a scholarship for graduate students, and supports occasional conferences and publications organized by its members.


The Board of Directors

  • President, Marie Sumner Lott (Georgia State University) (21-25; President 23-25)
  • Vice President, Laurie McManus (Shenandoah Conservatory) (23-27; Vice President 23-25)
  • Treasurer, Karen Leistra-Jones (Franklin and Marshall College) (20-24; Treasurer 23-25)
  • Secretary and Membership Chair, Loretta Terrigno (Eastman School of Music) (20-24; Secretary and Membership Chair 21-25)
  • Styra Avins (New York) (21-25)
  • Daniel Beller-McKenna (University of New Hampshire) (20-24)
  • Paul Berry (Yale University) (21-25)
  • George Bozarth (University of Washington, emeritus) (20-24)
  • Valerie Goertzen (Loyola University New Orleans) (23-27) 
  • Nicole Grimes (University of California, Irvine) (22-26)
  • William P. Horne (Loyola University New Orleans, emeritus) (20-24)
  • Ryan McClelland (University of Toronto) (23-27)
  • Scott Murphy (University of Kansas) (21-25)
  • Jacquelyn Sholes (University of Rochester) (20-24)
  • Peter H. Smith (University of Notre Dame) (21-25)

Corresponding Directors

  • Otto Biba (Vienna)
  • Kurt Hofmann (Lübeck)
  • Matthias Kirschnereit (ex officio; President, Johannes-Brahms-Gesellschaft Hamburg)
  • Christof Maisch (ex officio; President, Brahmsgesellschaft Baden-Baden)
  • Minoru Nishihara (ex officio; Japan Brahms Society)
  • Siegfried Oechsle (ex officio; Johannes Brahms Gesamtausgabe)
  • Johannes Prominczel (ex officio; Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien)
  • Wolfgang Sandberger (ex officio; Brahms-Institut an der Musikhochschule Lübeck)

Honorary Members

  • Bernice Geiringer †
  • Renate and Kurt Hofmann
  • Margit L. McCorkle
  • Thomas Quigley

Advisory Board

  • David Brodbeck (University of California, Irvine)
  • Camilla Cai (Kenyon College)
  • Richard Cohn (Yale University)
  • Walter Frisch (Columbia University)
  • Virginia Hancock (Reed College)
  • Margaret Notley (University of North Texas)
  • Heather Platt (Ball State University)
  • James Webster (Cornell University)
  • Christoph Wolff (Harvard University)

Officials of the Society

Loretta Terrigno, Chair, Geiringer Committee
Eastman School of Music
26 Gibbs Street
Rochester, NY 14604

Nicole Grimes, Chair, Publication Subvention Committee
Claire Trevor School of the Arts
University of California, Irvine
3041 Contemporary Arts Center
Irvine, CA 92697

William P. Horne, Valerie Goertzen, and Laurie McManus, Newsletter Editors
College of Music and Media
Campus Box 8
Loyola University New Orleans
New Orleans, LA, 70118