Call for Papers

Brahms 2022: New Paths, New Perspectives

9–10 November 2022
New Orleans

Guest speaker: Professor Natasha Loges, 
Hochschule für Musik, Freiburg

The American Brahms Society invites proposals for a pre-conference to be held on Wednesday, 9 November, and Thursday morning, 10 November 2022, in conjunction with the combined annual meetings of the AMS, SMT, and SEM in New Orleans, Louisiana. We wish to explore the place of Brahms scholarship and Brahms’s music in our historical moment. We welcome proposals on any aspect of Brahms or his music, but especially relating to the following themes: 

  • Researching, teaching, and performing Brahms in the digital age
  • Brahms’s music in times of crisis 
  • Brahms and the canon
  • Brahms in global and cross-cultural contexts
  • Brahms and public scholarship and outreach
  • Analysis: new voices, new methodologies
  • Brahms and new music
  • Issues of diversity, equity, and inclusivity in Brahms studies

We envision presentations in the following formats: 20-minute papers, with 10 minutes Q & A after each; themed sessions (3 or 4 papers, 20 minutes each followed by 10 minutes Q & A); roundtables (up to six presenters, each giving a brief position paper, followed by a general discussion: 90 minutes in length). Presentations in other formats will be considered. We look forward to welcoming attendees in person, but also wish to accommodate those who are unable to travel to New Orleans. Please be in touch through if you anticipate needing to participate virtually. The conference language is English.

Proposals should be sent to by midnight EST on Tuesday, 1 March 2022. One need not be a member of the ABS to submit a proposal, but those who present at the conference will be expected to join.

Please send your proposal (300 words or fewer for individual papers, 900 words or fewer for themed sessions or roundtables) as a Microsoft Word attachment to an email. The Word document should not contain the presenter’s name or other identifying information. In the cover email, please include the name, contact details, and institutional affiliation or city of each presenter, and a short bio (no more than 150 words) for each presenter. Also specify equipment needs. Decisions will be announced by 15 May 2022.

Paper-selection committee: Styra Avins, Nicole Grimes, Lucy Liu, Laurie McManus, Scott Murphy 

Planning committee: Valerie Goertzen, Nicole Grimes, William Horne, Karen Leistra-Jones, Marie Sumner Lott, Loretta Terrigno 

Conference updates will be posted on this site.